Maine Rural Behavioral Health Workforce Center

Home Maine Certified Intentional Peer Support Specialists



    • Identify as a person who has experienced a mental health challenge
  • Step 1

    Take Peer Support 101 course

  • Step 2

    Complete Core Training Course and Receive Provisional Certification

  • Step 3

    Finish 4 Co-Reflections (1 per quarter over a year) and 2 Continuing Educations + CIPS Skill Certification Exam

    • Finish 4 Co-Reflections
    • Finish 2 Continuing Educations
    • Pass CIPS Skill Certification Exam

    For further questions or transportation and other needs for the Anti-Oppression training, please reach out to cipssinfo.dhhs@maine.gov for more information.

  • Earn Intentional Peer Support Specialists Certification

    • Finish

Become a Certified Intentional Peer Support Specialists

We're going to ask you a few questions to provide you with all the resources you need to start you on your path to certification.

Back Start

Intentional Peer Support is a philosophy based on four tasks used to develop and maintain relationships:

  1. Relationships enable thinking about help in a new way.
  2. Rather than focusing on problem-solving and looking at what people don't want in their lives, peer support challenges individuals to discover their hopes and dreams.
  3. People in peer relationships learn and grow together.
  4. Individuals are required to have a mental health diagnosis to work in this role.

Certified Intentional Peer Support Specialists can work in settings such as hospital systems, behavioral health homes, psychiatric centers, and crisis centers.

Typically, Certified Intentional Peer Support Specialists work with individuals who experience mental health symptoms, but may also work with individuals experiencing substance use disorders. Some agencies require a dual certification of Certified Intentional Peer Support and Recovery Coach.